Recipients of 2019 MacBain Niagara Falls Scholarships Selected

Niagara Falls, Ontario (May 13, 2019) – Seven Niagara Falls students will receive scholarships valued at up to $32,000 over four years to pursue their undergraduate degrees starting this fall. This is the second group to receive the MacBain Niagara Falls Scholarships, founded by John and Marcy McCall MacBain in 2017.

The recipients are: Larissa Adamo (A.N. Myer Secondary School), Holly Ferron (Saint Paul Catholic High School), Daniel Krowchuk (Westlane Secondary School), Riley Manels (Stamford Collegiate), Ghazal Razeghi (A.N. Myer Secondary School), Tori Rigas-DiDomenico (A.N. Myer Secondary School) and Carter Yacyshyn (A.N. Myer Secondary School). In addition, eight students from all five high schools in Niagara Falls received one-time grants of $1,000 each towards their university studies.

MacBain Niagara Falls Scholarship recipients are selected based on the demonstration of strong potential for leadership, positive contributions to their school or broader communities and an overall commitment to excellence. The scholarship supports them over the course of their first undergraduate degree at any Canadian public university.

“Growing up in Niagara Falls, I was fortunate to have the support of my community, especially my teachers, who truly believed in me,” said John McCall MacBain, O.C. “They provided me with opportunities and the encouragement to go farther and pursue big goals. A scholarship that enabled me to attend university set me on a path that, to this day, continues to challenge me and allow me to give back and be involved in many different communities. Through our Foundation, Marcy and I are delighted to be able to provide some of those same opportunities and encouragement to promising students in our hometowns.”   

The selection process began at each of the high schools, in which committees nominated a total of 27 students from those who had completed a comprehensive application for the scholarships. The students selected to move forward participated in extensive interviews which looked beyond academic achievement to examine activities and pursuits in the service of others and across a broad spectrum of leadership roles.


The 2019 MacBain Niagara Falls Scholarship Recipients:


Larissa Adamo | A.N. Myer Secondary School

Larissa is a dedicated athlete as a member of her school’s cross country team and a competitive ringette player. On both teams she takes the opportunity to teach and motivate younger athletes. Larissa leads the Roots Multicultural Club at school and helps organize events throughout the year to celebrate cultures from around the world. She has been employed as a sales associate and group counsellor.

Holly Ferron | Saint Paul Catholic High School

Holly is currently a program assistant for the local CanSkate and has been a figure skater with Skate Canada for ten years. She is also a volunteer for the Kiwanis Club. This past fall, Holly was a peer tutor and Drop-Everything-And-Read leader, guiding and providing support to grade nine students in preparation for their transition to grade ten. She has worked in sports, retail, tourism and the restaurant industry.

Daniel Krowchuk | Westlane Secondary School

Daniel has been a member of the Student Trustee Senate Committee of the Niagara District School Board for the past two years, and works to improve support for LGBTQIA+ students throughout the district. He is currently the President of Westlane’s Project Share Food Drive and Chair of the Mayor’s Youth Advisory Committee. Daniel works part-time as a sales representative at a department store.

Riley Manels | Stamford Collegiate

Riley has served as a cadet for the past five years. As a Battery Sergeant Major, he trains fellow cadets in areas such as leadership, communication, teamwork and outdoor techniques. He helps organize and prepare the 479 Legion Fish Fry for local veterans on a weekly basis. Riley is an avid athlete and currently plays baseball and wrestles. He works part-time as a kitchen staff at a restaurant in a popular tourist area.

Ghazal Razeghi | A.N. Myer Secondary School

Ghazal has been the co-head of her school’s Model United Nations team for the past three years. She is involved in a local dojo as a student teacher of karate. Ghazal has developed her writing skills as a lead critic for her school’s Cappies Critics Team and is a member of her school’s Art Council. She works part-time as a customer service associate at a local restaurant.

Tori Rigas-DiDomenico | A.N. Myer Secondary School

Tori is currently the Prime Minister of the Student Council, leading the development of interactive events for the student body that promote inclusiveness and diversity. She coaches youth basketball and has led groups of students in leadership activities at both Camp Myer and the A.N. Myer March Break Basketball Camp. Tori previously worked as a hostess at a restaurant.

Carter Yacyshyn | A.N. Myer Secondary School

Carter has been practicing martial arts for thirteen years and was an instructor for many of those years, providing assistance to younger students during their training. He enjoys acting in school theatre and is the President of the French Club, recently hosting a Franconnexion session at his school with more than 300 students in attendance. Carter has been employed as a karate instructor and as a kitchen staff.


Read about the 2019 McCall Huron County Scholarship Recipients here